Joe Monaghan Prize

And the winner is...

The 2015 inaugural Joe Monaghan Prize has been presented to Andrea Colagrossi, Matteo Antuono, and David Le Touzé for their article "Theoretical considerations on the free-surface role in the smoothed-particle-hydrodynamics model" published in Physical Review E 79, 056701 (2009). The nominators of this article wrote that "Generally, free-surface boundary conditions are said to be “intrinsically” satisfied in SPH, but previously, there were no rigorous justifications for this statement. This article explains why the anti-symmetrized divergence is consistent when approaching the free surface, and unveils very important issues of pairs of divergence and gradient formulations regarding their consistency, conservation properties in modelling free surface boundary conditions." The Prize was decided by a vote of attendees at the 10th SPHERIC Workshop in Parma, Italy, in June 2015, and announced by Prof. Joe Monaghan.

In total, six eligible articles were shortlisted for the Prize. Each one of them present significant advances in one or more of the SPHERIC Grand Challenges (convergence, numerical stability, boundary conditions, and adaptivity). The other shortlisted articles were:

Dehnen, W., Aly, H. (2012) Improving convergence in smoothed particle hydrodynamics simulations without pairing instability, Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society 425:1068-1082 doi:10.1111/j.1365-2966.2012.21439.x | open-access version

Fatehi, R., Manzari, M.T. (2011) Error estimation in smoothed particle hydrodynamics and a new scheme for second derivatives, Computers & Mathematics with Applications 61:482-498 doi:10.1016/j.camwa.2010.11.028 | open-access version

Marongiu, J.-C., Leboeuf, F., Caro, J., Parkinson, E (2010) Free surface flows simulations in Pelton turbines using an hybrid SPH-ALE method, Journal of Hydraulic Research 48(Supp 1):40-49 doi:10.1080/00221686.2010.9641244 | open-access version

Marrone, S., Colagrossi, A., Le Touzé, D., Graziani, G. (2010) Fast free-surface detection and level-set function definition in SPH solvers, Journal of Computational Physics 229:3652-3663 doi:10.1016/ | open-access version

Xu, R., Stansby, P., Laurence, D. (2009) Accuracy and stability in incompressible SPH (ISPH) based on the projection method and a new approach, Journal of Computational Physics 228:6703-6725 doi:10.1016/


The Joe Monaghan Prize has been established to recognise SPH researchers who make outstanding advances in one or more SPHERIC Grand Challenges (convergence, numerical stability, boundary conditions, and adaptivity). The prize is named in honour of the unique contributions made by Prof. Joe Monaghan in the foundation of SPH and its continuous development since 1977.


The Prize is awarded on the basis of a single article. Articles published in peer-reviewed international journals from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2012 may be considered for an award in 2015. Either the date of first online publication or the print issue date must fall within the eligibility period. A candidate article must represent a clear advance in one of the Grand Challenge areas.

Which recent SPH articles will become classics?


Deadline extended to 14 November, 2014

One or more individuals may nominate an article for the prize. Nominators should be active SPHERIC participants. That is, they must belong to a member organisation/institution of SPHERIC, and they must have attended at least one SPHERIC workshop in 2012–2014. A nomination consists of:

  • Bibliographic details and DOI of the nominated article.
  • Abstract of the article.

  • Statement of which Grand Challenge(s) are addressed by the article.

  • A brief review of the article (500 words maximum), showing how the article represents a major advance in one or more Grand Challenge(s), and highlighting the impact and influence of the article in the SPH community.

  • Name(s) and contact details of the nominator(s).

Joe Monaghan asking a question during the 9th SPHERIC International Workshop, Paris 2014.

Nominations should be sent by 14 November 2014 to Nathan Quinlan (nathan.quinlan at with subject line “Joe Monaghan Prize nomination” and CC to other named supporters of the nomination. An individual may nominate only one article. An individual may not nominate an article of which (s)he is an author. Nominations will be confidential. The SPHERIC Steering Committee will check nominations for eligibility and (depending on the volume of nominations) may prepare a shortlist. The SC will invite a panel of independent expert reviewers (not limited to SPHERIC membership) to review the shortlisted articles. If a worthy article is found, the prize will be presented to the author(s) at the 10th SPHERIC Workshop in Parma, 2015.